The Games we Play, the Ways we Play.

Woke Up: 1.32 pm

Total Sleep Last Night: 12-ish hours

Silver Lining: I made my first round of money off eBay.

So. I have this aunt, she’s overbearing and crazy about health/fitness/diets. She buys things like protein shake mixes and has had a FitBit at least three years before it became popular- she’s, whew, she’s crazy- not because of the fitness stuff, but because of the way she presents herself. She comes off as some kind of Stepford Wife, always putting on a facade for everyone- even herself. I’m getting off topic. My aunt, she doesn’t understand- she doesn’t understand anything that isn’t perfect, let’s put it that way. She doesn’t understand things that don’t fit into her perfect boxes.

As a young adult with mental illnesses and a sleeping disorder, let me tell you, it is the most aggravating thing to talk to her. All she does is ask, “Do you have a job?” Well. No. I sleep too much to hold one down. “What are you doing about school?” No idea at the moment, why? “Well. What are you doing everyday?” Sleeping. Watching TV. Reading. Wondering what the hell I’m going to do with my life. Going to doctors. “You should get a hobby. You know you can sell these things online, right?” Why. Why the hell do I want to sell shit online everyday? “Well you have to do something! You can’t have no income!”

On and on it goes. So, I decided maybe sitting on my ass and doing nothing (like I’d been doing years prior) didn’t have the same appeal- that’s how I started my new hobby. Originally I was just going to get rid of some of the stuff in my house, but then “some” turned into 15 things, and then some things sold. And now here I am waiting to sell some more things.

This isn’t to tell you to go out and eBay or anything- but I had been doing literally nothing; no prospects for a job, nothing to occupy my time besides tumblr, TV, and some fashion blogs.

So, if you’re stuck in a rut; maybe you should pick up a hobby. Crocheting is pretty easy if you want something to do with your hands and to end up with a scarf or sweater. (Maybe not a sweater.) Back when I was younger I used to play MMORPGs to zap up large blocks of time- big pro, staring at a screen for a while makes you tired. If you live in warmer climates (or whenever it’s warm/in the spring) go take a walk; if you have pets, go outside and play with them; learn new areas of your surrounding neighborhood.

The thing about hobbies is that they can be anything- even things you thought you’d never do before.

Let me know in the comments things that you do to keep yourself busy!

Leave a Reply

